One of those questions I always get about when things start…

This blog should probably have been named the Perimenopause Histamine Connection.

If I had a dime for every time a women said she was having all the symptoms of menopause but that “I’m only 40.” I would be rich. Well, maybe a couple of dollars richer anyway.

I think many women do not understand when perimenopause starts and what happens for years before you call it menopause. There is a lot of confusion even with the term menopause. I know I’ve used perimenopause and menopause interchangeably. Sometimes I use the term menopause as if you’re going through menopause and sometimes I use it as if menopause is the thing you’ve achieved.

Let’s clarify terms.

Definition
By Mayo Clinic Staff
Perimenopause means “around menopause” and refers to the time period during which a woman’s body makes its natural transition toward permanent infertility (menopause). Perimenopause is also called the menopausal transition.

Women start perimenopause at different ages. You may notice signs of progression toward menopause, such as menstrual irregularity, sometime in your 40s. But some women notice changes as early as their mid-30s.

The level of your estrogen — the main female hormone — rises and falls unevenly during perimenopause. Your menstrual cycles may lengthen or shorten, and you may begin having menstrual cycles in which your ovaries don’t release an egg (ovulate). You may also experience menopause-like symptoms, such as hot flashes, sleep problems and vaginal dryness. Treatments are available to help ease these symptoms.

Once you’ve gone through 12 consecutive months without a menstrual period, you’ve officially reached menopause, and the perimenopause period is over.

I bring this up because I hear from a lot of women who can’t understand why they are having all these issues that I describe, yet they are only in their late thirties or early forties. By definition, in that period of our lives, our hormones are already starting their roller coaster ride of ups and downs, so it makes perfect sense that issues arise.

I think I had been intolerant for quite some time before it became acute. It became acute for me when my period pretty much stopped. But that’s me. Maybe you are in your early forties and are having new issues with histamine intolerance. It could be the fluctuation in estrogen. Estrogen causes histamine release which could account for a lot of issues right before a period such as itching and migraines.

From Acne.org:

Histamine and Hormones

Histamine-intolerant women often suffer from the symptoms listed above, especially headaches and menstrual pain, during certain phases of their menstrual cycle. Histamine levels tend to fluctuate with the level of hormones, especially oestrogen, at ovulation and just prior to the onset of menstruation. In contrast, many women with both allergies and histamine intolerance find significant relief of their symptoms during pregnancy; this is because the placenta makes a great deal of DAO, the enzyme that breaks down histamine. The result is that the level of histamine no longer exceeds the woman’s tolerance threshold, and she remains blissfully free from her symptoms throughout her pregnancy. Unfortunately, the symptoms tend to recur once the DAO from the placenta is no longer available after the birth of her child.

I hope this helps some of you that visit and are just not sure where histamine intolerance fits into the big picture. If you are in your late thirties and early forties and histamine intolerance seems to be a new issue to deal with, now you know why it could be so. You are right in the time of your life where hormones fluctuate and things start to get unstable.

The good news is, because you’ve stumbled over my blog and found this information early in your transitional years, you have the opportunity that I and many other women didn’t have to understand and control the issue. Maybe if I had known about it sooner, I would not have ever gotten to the point of having that suicidal itch. But then again, then this blog would never have come into being.

I guess everything happens for a reason.

Let me know down in the comments section if you are one of those young ones who just now realize I’m talking about you. And don’t forget to join the conversation over on Facebook in the newly formed group. We’re up to almost thirty members and are having a great conversations over there.

Have a good day ladies!

Dale

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
5 comments on “One of those questions I always get about when things start…
  1. That Goat Girl says:

    There is a great book called “Before The Change” which helps very much understanding when and what to expect. It helped me a lot with many things that were puzzling. The author is Ann Gittleman.

  2. K.K. says:

    Yep, I had major signs of this change back in my early to mid-thirties. They were delivered to me in the form of severe hot flashes. Yikes. That was not fun!

    Ann Gittleman has a Website, too:

    http://www.annlouise.com

  3. Karen says:

    Thank you for this read/info….for over a year and a half I have been having severe reactions to which the er sent me home with a script for an epi pen and said to journal. seen allergists rheumatologist and a gastro dr to all who have had no idea why these are happening. So I am on crazy amounts of anti histamine drugs to which are not helping and just put me in a drowsy state. Then it occurred to me that I will be 40 this yr and maybe it is linked to menstruation then I found this…so here is to this being my answer and them knowing what to stick me on or maybe me just doing it all my self!!!! Over drs at the moment 😛
    Thanks again
    Dale

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 805 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 484,437 hits
