Starting a new Facebook group and need itchy members!

I am always looking for ways to increase traffic to my blog. More traffic means more women who might see themselves in the stories here and might get help with their menopause histamine issues.

Last week the Low Histamine Chef posted a link to my blog from her Facebook page and my visits went through the roof. But it’s really hard to maintain that kind of traffic as the post sinks down the page.

I searched around and decided to join a couple of Facebook groups on menopause, but didn’t feel they were really the place for me. There were many women talking about the symptoms of menopause and what to do to feel better, but the majority of the conversations turned to HRT and anti-depressives. I desperately tried to post thinking that if they just read what I had to say they’d see the light.

Yes I know that’s arrogant and misguided. I don’t have the cure. But I also know that many women are grateful for seeing the link between their health issues and histamine and menopause, so I do think I have something valid to share.

The one thing I did see is a need for women to talk in a safe, quiet place about what ails them. That’s why I want to start a closed group on Facebook. I want my readers to be able to ask questions and share information out of the public eye. No one needs to know your business, ya know? But maybe you really want to know something but don’t want to comment here. The group would be the place to ask.

I want it to be a positive place to share what’s worked for you and even what hasn’t. I want everyone to help each other through this. The one thing I don’t want is a gripe session. It’s ok to feel crappy but what are you going to do about it? That’s what the discussion will be. It won’t be a group about taking HRT and other drugs. It will be about controlling your symptoms with foods and nutrition, exercise and lifestyle changes. I won’t be moderating the discussion unless it gets to everyone feeling sorry for themselves. Then I might step in and redirect the conversation.

If that idea is appealing to you, please head on over to Facebook and join.

Click here to join the group.

Let’s get the conversation started!

Dale

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Women's health
5 comments on “Starting a new Facebook group and need itchy members!
  1. H.L.W says:

    Been reading “You’re still hot to me:the joys of menopause” by Jean Kitson. No mention of histamine but lots about HRT. The histamine connection makes more sense! Get it out there! I’ve been trying to eat low histamine and I feel much more like me, thank you.

  2. Eileen says:

    I’m not really sure how I just found you (brain fog anyone?) but I think you have just answered a very pesky question I’ve been having for about 5 years now. Why am I so itchy? why do my forearms itch and prickle so terribly that I have scars from scratching in my sleep? My tender sensitive skin is anticipating some relief. Also, the random nature of my nighttime hot flashes. This makes so much sense and particularly during this cold snap when it’s all come roaring back. Just sent a request to join your group. Go YOU!

  3. Deb says:

    I’ve been struggling with itchy skin and rashes for 18 months, and despite consulting a dermatologist still have no real answers. I can relate to a lot of what you say, and look forward to hearing from other women in the same boat!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
