Did you know cold weather can raise your histamine levels?

I didn’t. Not until Sunday when I was so sluggish and histameeny that I broke out the iPad and looked it up.

I live in Miami where the temperature was averaging 84 degrees F in the day and 74 at night. Sunday, a cold front blew in which meant the temperature dropped to 53. Now that might not seem cold to many of you depending on where you live, but it was cold to me. It was a thirty degree swing in temperature.

I managed to finally get out on my bike around 11:30 in the morning and rode for about an hour. That was certainly not taxing for me. But later in the day I was so fatigued! And my eyes felt fat. I first thought wow, what’s wrong with me, but then thought it feels like back when I was really fighting high histamine levels. That’s when I looked it up.

Turns out that having an allergic-like reaction to the cold is not unheard of. It actually even has a name: Cold urticaria.

Urticaria is another word for hives. Many people who suffer from Cold Urticaria break out into huge hives. Their skin can get discolored purple, and if it’s a bad enough reaction they can suffer anaphylaxis. On the other end of the spectrum reside fatigue and dry itchy skin. That would be me.

I noticed after I started having major issues with histamine intolerance I didn’t tolerate cold weather nearly as well as I used to. Now I know why. The weather change is pushing up my histamine levels. I’m not totally surprised as I’ve suffered enough migraines in my life due to thunderstorms and rising air pressure to understand that weather can affect my body.

Fatigue from the cold weather and the time change has wreaked havoc on my stamina this week. But the weather is warming and I’m going to bed early so I should soon feel “normal” again…whatever that is.

So anybody else notice their histamine issues are exacerbated by cold weather? Or maybe you never realized before now. Share your stories down in the comments section.

And bundle up!

Dale

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
10 comments on “Did you know cold weather can raise your histamine levels?
  1. Susan says:

    This is when all of my histamine issues became a problem. During Hurricane Sandy in 2012 we lost our power and our heat and it started to get very cold. At night, I pushed staying in the house and never felt that kind of cold before on a continuous basis. I developed hives ( Urticaria ) and that’s when I started antihistamines. I was a mess. I am still working to keep balanced with my histamine levels two years later. Susan

    • Susan I remember you saying that’s when your problems started. I hope you’re improved. It’s still work for me to keep everything in balance all the time too. I guess it’s just going to be that way for me. But I really can’t complain too much. Overall I’m in good shape.

      Hang in there!

      Dale

  2. gorettia says:

    I could not believe it when I read your post. I live in Louisiana and we’ve had colder weather also. I have had miserable headaches (not migraines though) my eyes felt …like you said… fat. I didn’t know how to describe it until you used that word ! And tired/fatigues… I could barely make it through my 1/2 day at work, even spent part of the time with my head down on my desk. I’d go home and tell my husband ” I don’t know what is wrong with me but I can not function. I have to go lay down” That helped some. I had no idea it was histamine doing this. I try so hard to stay away from foods with histamine. Guess that will never be enough. Thank you for enlightening me…I may not be able to do any thing about it but at least I know why I’m feeling so sluggish etc I’m still thankful though – I’m so blessed and have so much to thank God for every day.

    • Yeah, It’s not just food that can fill your histamine bucket!

      Try to bring your histamine level down with foods and supplements. Vitamin C is a good antihistamine as in ginger. I use Olive Leaf extract also.

      Head on over to the Low Histamine Chef’s site and see what foods she would suggest.

  3. beagarth says:

    This is helping me understand what I am going through too. I am having to make myself do things. Ginger/olive leaf/dandelion/barberry tea helps. As does a plain antihistamine tea like mint and rosemary with ginger. Am also taking siberian ginseng powder on my food in the morning. Plus put some moringa powder on my food and have moringa tea. I thought the extra itchiness pus crashing energy ust had to do with my adrenals being under it due to the increased cold. Had no idea it might increase histamine too–but it makes sense. Both hormones respond to stress. I try to make sure I go for a walk, do my art, do some deep breathing/meditation, dress warmly, take hot baths with epsom salt now and then. And avoid all grains except maybe once or twice a month now (I mix seeds I grind up with a bit of sorghum flour–but still no sugars at all). The grains seem to make me worse–I think due to the fact they feed underlying bacterial issues I have which then makes the reaction to histamines (or the self production} worse. I seem to be figuring out how to manage all this as winter is starting to settle in. This extra information is a big help.

  4. Dee Davis says:

    Several weeks ago I suffered a histamine reaction and was getting back in balance quite well … until tonight, when I got super cold, I could feel my skin start to react. Couldn’t trace this to food, as I’m very careful to stay within range of “safe” foods. I intuited that it could have been because I became very cold tonight. Researching I discovered that y intuition was “right on.” Sometimes managing this condition becomes very tedious, but I’m grateful that at my age (83) that’s the only thing I have to deal with, healthwise. I’m grateful to have found your website. Thank you!

  5. Cosmas Gate says:

    I lived in Rustenburg where temperatures get as high as 38 degrees celcious and at times heat waves have struck quite a few times and as result of that i suffered heat rash often. I recently moved to another province and temperatures are very low especially in winter now and my skin becomes dry and itch the rash comes out on my arm joints and on the sides on my neck. I thought coming to a cold place was going to give me a break but not really.Am not sure if the cold weather is also rising my histamine levels.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
