Magnesium for hot flashes too!

This is going to be a super quick post. I’m working on a much more comprehensive post, but in the meantime, I wanted to get a quick plug in for magnesium. When I find something that works I don’t like to sit on the information.

I had a substantial reduction in my hot flashes since taking the B vitamins I talked about in my earlier post. But now I’ve seen even better results adding magnesium ascorbate into the mix.

Magnesium Ascorbate is the vitamin C powder I take that has both vitamin C and magnesium. It’s just one way to get magnesium into your system as a supplement. However you do it and whatever you use, I suggest you add magnesium into your supplement regimen if you want to help reduce hot flashes.

My next post will explain how I got to this conclusion. I’ve been researching the parasympathetic nervous system now…anyway, until then, if you’d like to read up on why magnesium is good for you, take a look at this article.

Ok, gotta run. Be posting the results of my research later this weekend. But in the meantime, take the B’s and the magnesium and sleep through the night!

Dale

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
12 comments on “Magnesium for hot flashes too!
  1. I haven’t had hot flashes yet, but I’ve seen some great result from magnesium in terms of better sleep, stress control, and reduction in cravings.

    • Yes to all of that! And I hope you never have those pesky flashes! Some women never get them.

      Thanks so much for stopping by.

    • K.K. says:

      Most fortunate are those who never experience a hot flash, and I hope that continues to be the case for you.

      I’ve had some doozies, and you are not missing a thing! ;-P 🙂

      • I cannot wait until they leave. I’m so much better than I was but I still get a few where I think I’m just going to spontaneously combust.

        Actually, I’m quite certain that classic picture of the woman who supposedly spontaneously combusted and only her legs are left was just having a really bad hot flash!

  2. K.K. says:

    Not surprising to see another great post, and topic here. 🙂

    Since I wasn’t specifically noting at the time if my hot flashes subsided while taking it, I can’t say for sure it helped them, but I did feel better all around for taking the magnesium.

    Around the house, I always have a bunch of vitamin C powder packets that contain it (though I’m not crazy about the format of magnesium hydroxide and magnesium carbonate), and I also need the vitamin C.

    Now, if I only opened the packet, mixed it in some water, and drank it…. 😀

    It has often been on my mind to take it again, even in the last few days, and after reading your post, and the article you provided, I’m jumping right on it.

    As for the B vitamins, I’ve been taking some of them for a while now. Like the magnesium, they also have a long list of benefits.

    Look forward to the extended article here.

    K.

    (Is it okay if I later mention a brand name here for the vitamin C? I like it because it is one of the few buffered, powdered ones, and it is easy on my system. I’d also be interested in the brand that you are taking.)

  3. […] Crow’s Feet Skin Wrinkles in Menopausal WomenNatural Vitamins for Hot Flashes and MenopauseMagnesium for hot flashes too!var base_url_sociable = […]

  4. K.K. says:

    Thanks for the brand names.

    With so many NOW Foods items in the house over the years, I’ve no idea how I missed the vitamin C one in my research.

    It’s on the shopping list for my next order. 🙂

    Emergen-C is the one I referenced in my previous comment.

    For the most part I like it, but it does contain a lot of extra things I don’t always want to take, including added sugar.

    Another one I’ve tried is something called Tri-Salts, by Ecological Formulas.

    This one contains calcium (carbonate), magnesium (carbonate), and potassium (bicarbonate).

    It can also help with some digestion issues.

    (Both are available at decent prices on Amazon and Swanson Vitamins.)

    ===

    I get what you mean about spontaneous combustion, and the dreaded hot flashes.

    It is indeed like being on fire, from the inside out.

    ===

    Below are some Jin Shin Jyutsu (JSJ) holds for hot flashes.

    Do them standing, sitting, lying down, in whatever way most comfortable for you at the time.

    A gentle, light touch is all that’s needed. JSJ works through clothing.

    As with every JSJ hold, there are thousands of benefits from each one, so don’t be surprised to find yourself better on several counts. 🙂

    Good to do both sides in a hold whenever indicated, but not required.

    Holding both balances both sides of the body.

    1) Hold the outside area of the knees. (See #4 here for more.)

    The right knee is supposed to be for cooling, but if you forget, do both.

    The body will understand, and there are added benefits in holding both.

    2) Hold the little finger for a few minutes.

    Either one is fine. Doing both even better.

    3) In the notes below, it’s like making a soft fist, with thumb outside of fingers.

    Left Side–With your left fingertips, hold below the base of the left thumb on the palm. At the same time, hang the right hand over the shoulder at the left side of the neck.

    Right Side–With your right fingertips, hold below the base of the right thumb on the palm. At the same time, hang the left hand over the shoulder at the right side of the neck.

    4) Several can be found on this last link for general cooling of the body, and overall a great resource site for JSJ.

    For a reference to #1 above, scroll down on this page to last entry, but don’t ignore the others here:

    http://www.flowsforlife.com/jin-shin-jyutsu/cool-the-body/

    Yes, the “Facelift” one on the above link really does work.

    All of them work 🙂

    K.

  5. sofia says:

    I’m wondering if transdermal magnesium therapy would help. When I have muscle/joint pain, cramping muscles, headache I spray and then rub in magnesium oil. I use a brand called Life Flo Health Magnesium oil and I now refer to it as “miracle in a bottle”. If I take magnesium orally it really bothers me but this way works for me. Apparently it can also help with restless leg syndrome and I have rubbed into the bottoms of my feet and I slept like a baby instead of tossing and turning.

    • I’ve tried it too but didn’t like the way it felt on my body. And it sometimes made me itch. But yes magnesium is great for all of that including restless leg. So however you get it it’s good. I use magnesium ascorbate and can tolerate it. I tired Natural Calm and that made me sick. But transdermal is just as good to use if it works for you.

  6. sofia says:

    Actually I hate the way it feels too! I usually put it on and leave it on for about 30 mins before my shower in the morning or my bath at night cause….it is an odd feeling lol! yep…can’t do natural calm either!

  7. theresa says:

    I find Magnesium works wonders for hot flashes. I take ~1000mg in the late afternoon/evening (magnesium citrate) if I forget I am woken up during the night. If I remember I get a good nights sleep.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
