Supplements do not replace a proper diet they support it

I went into great detail in my last post about the B vitamins and their effect on hot flashes. But there is a point, I realize, I really want to drive home today based on what I know of my own body. Maybe this is something you’ve realized and it just became very apparent to me last night, or maybe you also haven’t really thought about it. It’s this:

If you refuse to change your diet, no amount of supplementation will correct your problem.

I think there is a hierarchy of effects foods and supplements have on our bodies. To me, food overrides supplements, even though we can use supplements to help with reactions to food.

Let me give you an example. Yesterday I had one of the best days I’ve had in ages. I’ve been taking the B vitamins only a few days but already see a big difference. I had more energy than I’ve had in ages and I did not have a hot flash all day. That’s a change from having at least three or more in the same time period only days before. I also slept hot flash free the night before for the first time in months, which is also pretty amazing.

But then I went to dinner at my friend’s house and undid all the work the supplements had done. I had a vodka and coconut water (fresh right off the tree) and was flashing away before I got to the bottom of the glass. I followed that up with pasta and topped it all off with…yes…chocolate.

I was up half the night tossing and turning and burning up in the flames of hot flash hell! It would not matter how many B vitamins I poured into myself by that point, the food was wreaking havoc. This was not a surprise to me mind you. It just really drove the point home. If I want to be hot flash and histamine intolerant free, I’m going to have to eat right. The supplements, as their name suggests, are supplemental to proper eating, not a replacement.

I might be stating the obvious, but even after a year of blogging about food issues I still think it was a clarifying moment. There’s no either or. You have to eat a proper diet. If you stray you will pay the price. It’s basic cause and effect.

I thought it was important to point out. I get emails all the time and see comments from many women who, it appears to me, have not changed their diets but are looking for a cure for their health issues. Supplementing won’t cure you. Elimination diets are not meant to be permanent either. Get your bodies back into balance with a proper diet and use supplements as support if need be.

Hey, look, this is what, my fourth or fifth post in four days. Do you think my hypothalamus came back online?

Dale

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
3 comments on “Supplements do not replace a proper diet they support it
  1. Audrey says:

    Oh yes, diet is key for me!

  2. Rosemary Pringle says:

    Oops! Sorry!

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,213 hits
