Watch this video!

We started a conversation in the comments section of my L’Wren Scott post about strong women and I mentioned this film, Fabulous Fashionistas. It’s a terrific 45 minute documentary about six women who are inspiring for their strength and sense of self-worth.

You might think when you first visit the page it’s a film about how they dress only, but it’s so much more than that. Each one has a great story to tell about her life. The fashion is just the way they’re introduced.

Take a look and let me know what you think down in the comments.

Fabulous Fashionistas

Tagged with:
Posted in menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
8 comments on “Watch this video!
  1. K.K. says:

    More happy, positive, uplifting news like this should be in the mainstream media—in all kinds of media—every day. 🙂

    If one has the right version of Flash installed, the entire documentary can be viewed on here:

    http://www.channel4.com/programmes/fabulous-fashionistas/4od

  2. K.K. says:

    Thought this might be of interest, and along the topics here of body image, age, etc.

    Better wording could have been used in the URL, and headline, but the article is worth a look, along with the related links in it.

    https://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/fat-woman-wears-bikini–world-doesn-t-end-180736209.html

    Gutsy woman. 🙂

  3. K.K. says:

    Good grief. As soon as I hit the submit button, I realized what I’d done.

    After my saying better wording could have been used, etc., I should have instead used the words brave and courageous.

    Gutsy is simply a word I always use to mean brave, courageous, and the like, so please do not read anything else into it.

    I have always liked the sound, the feel of the word gutsy.

    Its use here is not a Freudian slip, a judgment, a pun, etc.

    In the spirit of more clarity, I am currently overweight.

    Whatever my weight at any given time, I do not see a person’s weight as any kind of defining factor.

    On the flip side, and in the context of how the Western world views a person’s weight (and especially women), it’s kind of cool that the word gutsy does mean courageous, brave, and so on, so let’s look at in that light, further mitigating any negative spin the world puts on someone’s “excess” weight. 🙂

  4. K.K. says:

    I swear: I am not looking up these things. 🙂

    They seem to find my inbox, let me stumble upon them.

    Here is another one.

    http://www.purewow.com/fashion/Women-Over-60-Are-Getting-the-Fashion-Cred-They-Deserve

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
