Is histamine intolerance real?

Everyday I check my blog stats and see how many people visited, where they’re from, and what brought them to my site. I can see the search words they use. Today I noticed someone found me after googling “Is histamine intolerance real?”

I’m not surprised to see that. I think the person must be someone who either went to a doctor and asked about histamine intolerance and got the answer that the doctor never heard of such a thing, or they landed on a site that called it the newest health fad.

Seriously, I almost fell over one day when I saw a guy refer to histamine intolerance as the newest health fad!

“Hey Mabel, guess what, I have histamine intolerance triggered by menopause. My doctor thinks I’m nuts!”

“Well Joyce, I have histamine intolerance due to a mast cell disorder. Until I figured that out I was on anti-histamines because my allergist thought they’d help.”

“Well Mabel, we’re just going to be the most popular girls at the party aren’t we having the newest health issue to parade around with. Our friends will be so jealous of our itching and hives they’ll want to have it too!”

Yes, I guess I’m feeling a bit prickly today. Probably having a phantom period… But not a day goes by that a woman doesn’t email or leave a comment that her doctor thought she was crazy or they actually never heard of intolerance before. Gynecologists will put you on HRT and allergists will put you on anti-histamines but no one will help you fix what’s gone wrong. They will work to eliminate the symptom.

So many women write and tell me thank you, now they know they’re not really crazy. Either doctors need to start listening when women speak or women need to figure out how to be healthy without them.

So yes, I am here to tell you that histamine intolerance is real. It can come on out of the blue and alter your life in ways you couldn’t imagine the day before you had that first weird itch. And when a doctor looks at you sideways, walk the Hell out the door and either fix it yourself or find someone who will listen!

This is not something you have to be tortured by. You can fix it. It takes time, patience, and perseverance. But it can be done. You can control it.

So my rant for the day is over. I hope the person who asked sees this because I want you to know you are not crazy. There is such a thing as histamine intolerance. They don’t call me the Itchy Bitch for nothin’!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
12 comments on “Is histamine intolerance real?
  1. Ann says:

    http://www.perthallergy.com.au/richard-nolan.php

    OK ladies, lets get one thing sorted, the doctor above knows what we suffer from, even if the US doctors don’t. I suggest you seek a better doctor.
    This is what this doctor wrote to a Dietician at a private hospital for me, perhaps you can go back to your respective new doctors and tell them that the problem is:-

    quote ‘suffers from chronic urticaria and an element of delayed pressure angioedema, I would be grateful if you could provide/advise with regards to identification of any amines, salicylates or glutamates that may be contributing to her hives’ end of quote.

    This is serious if you get them in the throat as it could be fatal, so if they have not got a clue what you are talking about it is not very funny.

    My hives started from my ankles to the top of my head, as I have stated before.
    Watching the digestion of histamines I have nearly everything under control, but pressure is also a cause of our problems. So the tight jeans went out to the Salvation Army second hand shop, my undies are now two sizes larger too! If I get on my exercise bike I get internal [vagina] hives. Or I will get hives in the pelvic region and thigh. If I keep off my exercise bike I don’t get hives. So pressure has a lot to do with this. I suggest tight jeans are the cause of hives if you have them in that region, if you don’t then thank your lucky stars and hope the existing hives do not spread to that region. I guess also if you ride a bike for pleasure you may get the same problem. But I do not get hives on the exterior of my body now, just the internal hives. I even did a check myself! Using a magnifier mirror and it looks like measles.

    See if your doctors know anything about that! If not it is a worry because they should!

    Good luck.

    Ann

  2. You have convinced me that time, patience, and perseverance really is what it takes. I have had a week of mixed results. I was up most of the night with huge flushing. Yesterday my daughter was quite ill, and there was an hour that we were considering taking her to the hospital, and with EDS that can end up worse that before. So lots of stress. I think all the flushing was from that stress load. She is much better today : )
    I am learning as I go. The support I get from you and your site is very helpful as I feel like I am out drifting in a vast ocean with no land in site. But it is there, I just can’t see it. You can see it. That gives me hope! Thanks!
    Your rant is fine. Many of us get treated like we have nothing better to do than to sit around looking up new symptoms and disorders to have! I think those that say these kinds of things have never suffered, and certainly never suffered and were treated badly for it.
    I think it has a lot to do with respect.

    Ann,
    I am so sorry to hear about your pressure hives! Those sound awful. I get those around sock lines, and underwear lines, bra lines….. my daughter can break out in some kind of hives on her fingers, when she has been using them a lot. Weird!
    I am wishing you the best as I know you are still on your journey. Thank you again for taking the time to be here on the net and for sharing what you have learned.
    Hugs,
    Terri

  3. Candy knox says:

    I started taking Candida a month ago I also added daily supplement like calcium and vitamin E and Super B complex, I’m finally on the mend. I can even eat chocolate and drink wine. I have not had the hives at all. I really thought I would never be the same again. Now I can eat almost anything, I do avoid horseradish and frozen seafood. I was on a itchy path to insanity.

    • Candida overgrowth and histamine intolerance share a lot of the same symptoms.

      I’m super happy to hear of your healing. And I completely can relate to the feeling that life is altered permanently and you’ll never be the same.

      Thanks for sharing. It always helps others who are suffering to hear that people can and do heal.

      Dale

      • Ann says:

        Dale hi. I was just thinking with Easter coming up, how many people on your site eat Hot Cross Buns? I cannot eat them personally I do not eat any commercially baked sugar buns with currents and sultana in, they are too high in histamines!

      • What are they exactly? What I might refer to as cinnamon buns? I’ve heard of them but not sure I’ve ever had them.

      • Ann says:

        Hot Cross Buns are a yeast bun with dried fruit in, sometimes the recipe can have cinnamon sometimes bakers put chocolate chips in. They are glazed after the baker has cut a cross on the top of the mixture before it is baked. So when they rise in the oven the cross is formed in the yeast. They are a sweet bun, very tasty. It is common to have them toasted if they are stale. Eaten on Good Friday in the Christian Calendar in Australia and England.
        They also come in a partly baked tray in the supermarkets, so they can be baked fresh for an early breakfast on Good Friday. They have a heavenly smell to them!
        Do you have ‘Bakers Delight’ where you live Dale? We do in Australia they make some lovely bread. I only buy my bread from them as they do not use any dairy in their loaves.
        We also have Cinnamon buns as you say, but they have a light icing on top, Hot Cross Buns have no icing or as it is also termed ‘frosting’. We use the word icing in the UK and Australia and New Zealand.

    • Ann says:

      Just a little word about taking Calcium! I was taking it for my protection against weak bones and took a Calcium that had Vit d in, [small amount] this turned out to be not sufficient when I had my second bone density scan. The doctors did not say I needed to take 1000mg of D3 for the Calcium to be absorbed in the body. I have since heard some women need to take a higher dose than 1000mg of D3. I wish doctors would give the whole information and not part of it! As if we ladies are mind readers!
      I have just had a metabolic study done [last week] of my absorbson of calcium as it was being absorbed in the arm and spine but not the hip! I have yet to get the results.

  4. Julie Nealey says:

    I am 44 and had a hysterectomy (have one ovary left) 8 years ago due to severe endometrial tumors and chronic bleeding. It has been diagnosed by my medical doctor that I am in menopause and about 7weeks ago I woke up to itchy hives. After a month of daily hives and no obvious triggers, I went in to my doctor to receive help. I was being driven mad as well as I scratch myself until I bleed and am covered in scabs. The hives are awful, the burn, swell and itch horribly. I take OTC non-drowsy anti-histamines and they dont help. Doc put me on prednisone. It didn’t help. He didn’t believe it had anything to do with menopause or hormones. He said, and I quote, “yup, you have severe hives and most of the the time you know never the cause”

    Ummmmm….

    Meanwhile I am miserable. What are the primary ways to minimize the itching? I am begging anyone for help.

    • Take a look at my post “I think I’m histamine intolerant what do I do now.” You can use the search tool to find it.

      There I tell you how to start an elimination diet and how to use a food diary. You are only steps away from figuring it out, trust me. If this is your issue it will reveal itself quickly when you do the work.

      It shocks me every time I hear a story that ends with a doctor prescribing meds without really knowing what’s wrong. Prednisone is tough stuff. And for a doctor to say out loud people can never know the cause of some bodily dysfunction is more than ridiculous.

      Take control of your body and you will see results. Ask questions here. There are lots of women on this blog, along with me, waiting to help. And there’s tons of information here. Also make sure you stop by the Low Histamine Chef’s site. She has an amazing amount of good information too.

      Good luck and stay in touch.

      Dale

  5. I just found my way here with that very question. I have been doing research on the subject of histamines and food because of issues I have had reacting to things.

    I think maybe part of the issue with doctor’s is that people are using the wrong term (histamine intolerance). I know that doctors are familiar with ‘Mastocystosis’ and ‘Atopy’ both of which have similar symptoms to what people call ‘histamine intolerance’, but very different causes and treatments. I have never heard the word ‘histamine intolerance’ until I started looking for information about food high in histamines. I have about a dozen documented allergies that my allergist found via tests. I also have eczema and asthma.

    I also have had reactions to a few things I am not actually allergic to. The allergist has done tests available for them, and while the actual reactions are well documented, genuine reactions they are clearly not allergies since these additional things I am reacting to are not potential allergens or allergy tests turn out negative.

    One of my rashes ended up getting infected so I went to a my family doctor. I was assuring him my rash wasn’t a fungal infection, and I told him about my allergies. ‘Oh!’ He said. ‘And you have asthma too. You have atopy. Have you heard that before? When people who have this trifecta of asthma, eczema, and hayfever tend to be extra allergic to things and have a bunch of other weird reactions. I’m going to put that on your chart because that’s important for other doctors to know.’

    My allergist, on the other hand, has been saying all along that I’m ‘hyperallergic’ and although that’s not the official medical term (atopy) it’s a little bit more accurate in my opinion since ‘atopy’ sort of makes it sound as if the issue is just with your skin. So now I have my allergy kit with pills, inhaler, and epipens. All my doctors and the hospital I go to know about my allergic weirdness, and it has been explained to them by other doctors that they can understand. The biggest issue I have had with my ‘sensitivity’ has been explaining what exactly is wrong to my friends/family (though my entire family saw me break into hives during a holiday dinner so no one denies there is anything wrong with me), and finding information about it online. The latter is mostly because there is a lot of BS written about ‘histamine sensitivity’ and ‘histamine releasing foods’ etc. It seems like it ‘histamine sensitivity’ may be the new ‘gluten sensitivity’ for people who like being paranoid about what they eat. Most of what’s written about it seems like it was written by someone pushing a specific diet (like raw veganism). Much of the information contradicts other information, my own personal experiences, and things my doctors have told me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
