Questing for the hot flash cure…

This morning on the way to work, my friend and I were chatting about my hot flashes. Actually, I was describing the inferno I’ve been experiencing and she was kind enough to listen…once again. She’s nine years older than me and has been through this all, so it’s nice to talk to someone who’s been there already, although she’s never suffered from hot flashes herself.

We spoke about mood swings, which were her nemesis, and I mentioned that mine are not as bad as they had been most of my life during my monthly bouts of PMS. I surmised it could be the drop in testosterone.

DLB: “Our testosterone drops right?”
RP: “Everything fucking drops!”

Very succinct yet says it all, doesn’t it? I loved it and just had to share.

Anyway, I am working on a new post based on what I’ve recently learned about what happens in your body when estrogen drops. I’ve learned the drop directly affects the neurotransmitters in the brain and your serotonin levels. Believe it or not, women with hot flashes are often prescribed anti-depressants for that very reason. But my quest is to eliminate hot flashes with healthy eating as well as a healthy lifestyle.

It’s my belief that hot flashes are telling your body that something is out of whack. Think about it. They are super uncomfortable. Any time your body needs something it sends you a signal. Pain for instance. So I think a hot flash is a signal that something needs to be adjusted. It’s just figuring out what needs to be adjusted and how to do it.

I’ve learned a lot over the last couple of days and will be sharing soon. so stay tuned!

DLB

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
3 comments on “Questing for the hot flash cure…
  1. K. says:

    Hello DLB,

    Here’s wishing you and yours the best of everything in this holiday season, into the new year, and well beyond.

    Thank you for all that you do here on your blog.

    It’s been a while since I commented, but I am still a regular reader, and very much appreciate the hard work, kindness, consideration, deliberation, research, and more that you put into your blog, and ultimately into helping us here.

    I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday season, and life in general, despite any hot flashes, and so on. 🙂

    Happy Holidays and A Merry New Year to you, family, friends, and all readers here. 😀

    K.

    • Thank you for your kind words.

      Here’s wishing you and your family a happy and healthy holiday season!

      And may we all be itch free for the new year!

    • K.K. says:

      Oops.

      It’s not a big deal, but in reviewing when I last commented before today, I came across this one, and noticed that I did not sign it as I have all of my others.

      For consistency, and to properly identify it, it should have been signed as “K.K.,” not “K.,” so I’m updating it now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 805 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 484,437 hits
