The french fry hot flash from Hell…

What is the stupidest thing you’ve done in a while? For me, it was eating a bunch of greasy french fries at a restaurant last night.

Now, I’ve been able to venture off my safe foods list for quite some time, but what a lesson I’ve learned venturing so far off that I fell off a cliff! I went to bed at 9:15pm with such an upset stomach, and I woke up in a sweat. I still feel awful (it’s 9:30 the next morning). I haven”t eaten anything and have only had white tea. And my body is running hot like my thermostat is stuck! Even when I went to put my rings on this morning, my fingers were swollen. Oh geez, the inflammation…

So after not having hot flashes for months, I am stuck this morning in a perpetual hot flash.

Why am I advertising my less than brilliant culinary decision? Because I want to warn you that as you heal and get this histamine monster under control, foods still have the ability, even in one sitting, to affect the harmony of your system.

I don’t know if it is an overload of omega 6, something I have spoken about at length in earlier posts, or just the inability to digest that grease, but my body is very unhappy with me and is showing it by exhibiting signs of a major inflammatory response.

I am hoping to one day want to eat again…but I can tell you with certainty, the next time I look a plate of french fries in the eye, I’ll remember how badly I’m feeling now and hopefully pass them up. Food aversions are a very strong type of aversion, and once people get sick off of a food they are likely to never touch that food again.

That’s also something I worried about having histamine intolerance. Would I have an aversion to certain foods? Basically, the answer is yes, but to only a very few foods. I am still very wary of spinach. I remember the itch that would inflame my arms and I still can’t bring myself to buy a bag. I’ve had it when it’s been in a salad at a friend’s house, but that’s about it. I’m too afraid to try to put it in my smoothies like I used to.

I’m also still afraid of chocolate. My worst reactions were to chocolate and aged cheese, and although I have eaten blue cheese, I haven’t really eaten chocolate again. And I’m about to abandon blue cheese because I think I’ve had mild reactions to it recently. I have to be careful with avocado and still won’t try to eat cauliflower. But I’ve been able to eat pretty much any other whole food I like. I don’t eat junk food, however. (Although those french fries do qualify as junk food I think)

I really worry that intolerant people will develop weird relationships with food, although so many of us want to eat normally again, I think that once a healthy food is re-introduced and there is no reaction, this issue resolves itself.

Anyway, I started this post hours ago, and since then, my stomach has settled, the eternal hot flash stopped, and the swelling that prevented my rings from spinning on my fingers has gone down. I feel as though I’m hungover though…

So listen. Be careful out there. No matter what you can eat, eat healthfully. Don’t fall off the healthy food wagon!

DLB

Edit: I forgot to mention beer. I used to love a dark rich beer every now and again. But when I see a bottle, I can practically feel the hives breaking out on my thighs…so tearfully I must bid farewell to the blessed brew.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, peri-menopause, Women's health
7 comments on “The french fry hot flash from Hell…
  1. K.K. says:

    Hi,

    I hope by now you are feeling a lot better, and I’m so sorry you had to experience this at all.

    (My apologies in advance, as this turned out to be a long comment.)

    Having not commented here for a while due to my sprained hand/wrist/arm, and missing this blog, I popped over here to see what was going on, and was surprised to find this entry, given my recent experience.

    Eating out for me is pretty much a non-event. The only things I can eat while out have been regular fries, and sweet potato fries.

    That is, until Friday, August 30th.

    I’d been careful from what places I got said fries. After eating some regular ones on Friday night from a trusted source, I felt something was off, but not quite an attack.

    While out on Saturday, I ate again a few, and only a few, more fries from the same place. (The person driving me around had purchased a sandwich and a side of fries from the same place as the Friday fries, and I had only a few of his fries.)

    It did not take long during the outing for the fries to do their damage.

    The bucket had been tipped again, and quickly.

    Fast forward to now, early morning on 9/4/13, and I’m still not a 100%.

    Granted, I am a gazillion times better than on Saturday, but I’m still having some issues, as well as feeling that hangover you described.

    This is the first time an incident has lasted this long.

    As if all of the above were not enough, and possibly why it’s taking me so long to recover, I woke up on Saturday with a vicious migraine. It was also quite hot and humid here on Saturday, which in general makes it hard for me to eat, or function well.

    Having a migraine, or other headache, around an attack is not entirely uncommon for me, though they tend to come after the attack is over, if at all.

    This migraine was especially bad, as was the timing in that it all came on at once, along with the heat/humidity.

    Like you said, it will be a while before I eat fries again, and certainly not again from that particular place.

    In terms of a weird relation with food, I don’t think that is a danger for me, though I can sure see how it could happen.

    My desire to someday again eat whatever I want (in a healthy manner) is far too strong to cause me to give up on food in general.

    Are there foods that scare me? You bet.

    For example, one of my worst attacks came from avocado. I also had an equally bad one as the result of eating two tiny plums smaller than ping-pong balls.

    It will be a very long time before I go near those two foods again.

    Ah, beer. I still love the sight and smell of it, yet I have no desire to drink it now because I know what it will do to me.

    Yes, to be careful, to eat a strong healthy diet, is excellent advice.

    At the same time, please don’t let these attacks cause disheartenment. A positive attitude is crucial to one’s wellness.

    While these attacks are dreadful, it’s important to focus on the times when we feel good, even if we are having a tough day.

    Our thoughts create our realities, so best to dwell on the good days, and not the bad. 🙂

    Best wishes to you, DLB, in your recovery from this one, and to all of you out there in general.

    K.

  2. You make a good point about always remaining positive. I probably shouldn’t post when I’m in the throes of an attack!

  3. K.K. says:

    Hi,

    By no means was I implying that you were not positive. On the contrary, and I also think you gave a levelheaded portrayal of what happened to you in general, and as a cautionary tale for all of us here.

    Further, you are always concerned about the health and wellness of your readers.

    By the way, not long after I posted my previous entry, I went into one of the worst attacks ever.

    It was about 13 straight hours of agony, hell, and torture. (I think my current record is 24 hours, not that this is something I care to beat, or that is a matter of pride.)

    Now, I’m dealing with the hangover, and the feeling of having had my insides clawed out, been run over by a steamroller, and had my body set on fire, in no particular order.

    I sure hope you are doing better by the minute, and that we all find a way to reach, and stay at, a point when all of this is a far distant memory.

    K.

    • Thanks for the reassurance. I wasn’t sure if I had come off negative. I was feeling so badly when I wrote that I wasn’t really sure I was making any kind of point other than whining!

      What set your latest attack off, do you know? It sounded like you had been doing better for quite a while.

      I think if I’m not mistaken you’ve said you are already through menopause? I only ask because I think I’ve noticed that as my cycle still has its hormonal ups and downs my itching seems to change. I think when my estrogen levels are at their lowest, my histamine bucket fills up quicker. I want to do a post on that.

      • K.K. says:

        Hi,

        You did not come off as whining at all, so no worries.

        These attacks can be scary, and sometimes one does need a chance to vent. 😉 🙂

        As for this latest attack, it was definitely the fries.

        It had been building since that Friday, and in looking over my health/food journal, I was already feeling ill very early Saturday morning, not long after midnight.

        At first, I thought I was having a comparatively lower level attack that was dragging out for an unusually long time.

        Then, on Wednesday, things got a whole lot worse, with it exploding into an even worse situation.

        I made the further mistake of thinking that I could eat normally, which only added to the severity of it.

        Thanks for remembering; prior to this, I had been doing much better in this regard.

        Yes, I am postmenopausal. I’m not a fan of labels, but it’s true. 🙂

        There could surely be a connection between the hormone levels and histamine levels as hormones regulate, affect the entire body.

        K.

      • I actually, very stupidly, ate a big pretzel at the movies Friday night thinking it would be no big deal. I felt awful afterwards and yesterday was a mess. I woke up with a big hive on my thigh, something that hasn’t happened in several months, and just felt badly all day. I gave into it and called it a sick day and napped and watched Netflix. This morning I am worlds better.

        You would really think after all we’ve been through we would learn, but food is such a strong temptation.

  4. K.K. says:

    Hi,

    Perhaps it was too soon after the fries incident? It’s sometimes hard to tell when, and what will affect us.

    Glad you are feeling better. 😀

    Yes, temptation is all around us.

    The strongest pull for me, as I’m sure is true for many, if not all, here is to simply live a life where I don’t have to scrutinize every single thing I eat or drink.

    Sometimes, at random, I’ll be in the presence of a food or drink (it doesn’t matter what), and want to have it just so I can “prove” that I can have it.

    I don’t do it just yet, but I think about it, picture it as a reality, have dreams about it.

    This to me is a good thing in that I’m rewiring my brain, and so my body, to eventually accept all food and drink. 🙂

    K.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,213 hits
