The lazy blogger

Well, I’m back to school and back to getting busy. I’ve been a very lazy blogger, which is not healthy for the blog! And because we’re all about health here, I must hop on it and get to blogging again. You’d think with so much time I would have been writing away. But with me it’s the opposite. Inactivity breeds inactivity!

So hang on while I start to publish in earnest once again. I have in the works posts on food cravings and polyphenols, the dangers of corticosteroids and their effect on adrenals, and the link between depression and histamine intolerance. I also am working on a post about being a detective in your life and tracing your intolerance back through your family tree.

I hope all who stop by are healing and happy in these waning days of summer.

In health,
DLB

Tagged with:
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
4 comments on “The lazy blogger
  1. Ruth Catan says:

    Hi DLB!
    Again wonderful blog and update. I am living with the results of being treated from many years on and off of corticosteroids now…and if any ladies reading this blog have severe or chronic eczema that is not responding readily to western treatment, you may wish to check out the Itsan.org website..which details the condition of red skin syndrome. This is a volunteer website that is dedicated to curing patients of chronic eczema by topical steroid withdrawal and it is run, in part by a CA dermatologist named Dr. Marvin Rappaport. I mention this only because high histamine production is linked to severe itching and scratching and the first line of defense is almost always topical steroids.

    Be Well!
    -Ruth

  2. Wow! Thank you so much for that input. I am convinced that steroid use is a factor for many women. And steroids can come in so many forms. I didn’t realize that the cortisone shot into my shoulder for frozen shoulder two years ago and the prednisone my friend took for bronchitis were actually the same drug until a biologist friend of mine corrected me.

    I had severe side effects from that shot for several months after, including night sweats, vertigo, and leg spasms. My friend had a scary bout of crashing fatigue, where she could barely get out of bed. The research she did pointed to adrenal fatigue, something I’ve discussed endlessly as what I think is one of the causes of all our problems.

    I’ve wanted to work on the connection between corticosteroid use and histamine intolerance, and here you bring another piece to the puzzle. Thank you so much!

    • Ruth Catan says:

      My pleasure (if you can call it that?!) Actually, one of the gentleman in the Itsan.org forum mentioned his hormones levels were all over and he felt he overproduced histamine. One women mentioned she could only eat rice for 4months because of odd and unprecedented allergic reactions to other foods. And she got a food panel that revealed nothing and went thru all the testing early in her withdrawal. It revealed nothing. She is in month 5 or 6 now of her withdrawal and can eat food again–beyond rice!
      My personal experience is that I did go back on a low strength does this past July, but took myself off them 3 days ago when my skin felt as though someone had lit a match to it. I don’t think I have a choice anymore–I have to go off this stuff. Ergo, I do believe it would seem highly unlikely that I have developed *real* food allergies or even environmental allergies at this point in time, however, the documentation (science) beyond this blog is that middle age women can and do develop allergies mid-life. This can be googled and researched. Sucks. My hope, running consistent with yours, is that this is a temporary condition and not a true mast cell disorder for life. The itch is unbearable, when it’s not painful. UGH!

      • Just remember that this is not necessarily an allergy to food, but an allergy to the histamine in food, so allergy tests like the other women took will not show allergies to foods if it is histamine intolerance.

        Your food diary, hopefully, should be very revealing and help clarify this point.

        I know how you feel with that horrible itch. Unless you’ve ever suffered from it, it’s hard to understand how disruptive an itch can be to a normal life!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 442,042 hits
