Ginger will always be in my pocket!

I have always kept crystallized ginger and ginger tea in my house for upset stomachs. Now, I have crystallized ginger, ginger tea, and 500mg ginger capsules in my house, as well as the capsules in a little container in my purse at all times.

In the past, I used crystallized ginger for motion sickness, but now thanks to my most recent trip abroad, I’ve learned that the ginger capsules are so effective to fight motion sickness I’m already planning my next trip. (Barcelona looks like it might be next when I actually have money to go)

But what does any of this have to do with histamine intolerance?

Ever since I was a little kid flying down to Miami from Boston when my Dad worked for the airlines and my grandparents lived on Miami Beach, I’ve gotten air sick. When the plane is about 45 minutes from landing and I felt it slow and drop down through the clouds, my stomach rolled around and sent me into waves of nausea. I couldn’t speak the entire time. I’d just sit there breathing heavily and sweating until the plane touched down.

I took Dramamine for years and it helped a bit, but then I’d have to sleep for hours after, so on any trip where I landed during the day, the rest of the day was an effort. I read about using crystallized ginger instead of Dramamine and decided to try it quite a few years ago. Dramamine works on your head, where ginger works on your stomach.

Right before this latest trip to Europe, I read on the Low Histamine Chef site that flying actually raises histamine. I began to wonder if my feeling badly during flights was a part of that. It also would make sense that ginger could help knowing that ginger works wonders for me when it comes to supplementing for my intolerance. I thought the connection was interesting. I’d say the crystallized ginger helped my air sickness only marginally. But I never saw anything that spoke about dosage other than to take a large chunk of ginger, so even on this trip that was all I planned to do.

Lucky for me I couldn’t reach the crystallized ginger in my bag before landing. It was under the seat in front of my neighbor because my space was blocked by an electrical box, and he was asleep at the time I needed it and I didn’t want to wake him, so I thought hey, I have ginger capsules in my “emergency” supplements container in my little purse, let me take one of those. (500mg)

Wow is all I can say. We dropped down through the clouds, bounced around a bit, and swayed and pitched through some turbulence while I sat up thinking this can’t be. I have absolutely no air sickness. Like none!

On the way back to Miami, I took the capsule about 45 minutes before landing and had the same experience. I was even chatting with the girl next to me. Simply unheard of in my previous years of flying.

I don’t know if the histamine intolerance has anything to do with my air sickness. I’m pretty sure I’ve been intolerant my entire life, although not to the extent I was six months ago. And I know you can be air sick and not intolerant. Those two things can me mutually exclusive. But it is interesting to me that one of the supplements I take daily for my histamine intolerance, from very early on, to control my itching has a major impact on the air sickness that has dogged me my entire life.

Six months ago, I stumbled over the fact that crystallized ginger stopped a reaction to histamine for me. Then I realized if I took it before I went to bed it helped minimize hot flashes. (I have been hot flash free for three months now) I switched to capsules to get a larger, more controlled dose and to eliminate the excess sugar of crystallized ginger. And if someone came in here today and said you can keep only one of your supplements, I might very well give up the quercetin before I give up the ginger. I believe in its benefits that much.

I take one 500 mg ginger capsule after breakfast and one before bed every day. I am still taking all of my other supplements, along with olive oil too. (You can see my regimen on the supplements page in the menu at the top of this page.) But for some reason, I feel the ginger is important to the entire scheme. I almost feel as if it’s a catalyst. But of course, this is only conjecture as I am not a scientist nor a doctor.

So whether you are looking to augment a supplement regimen for histamine intolerance or looking to combat motion sickness, maybe give ginger a try. Pleas remember, I’m not a doctor and you must do what’s right for your body. What works for me might not work for you…but it just might…

See ya in Barcelona!

DLB

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
8 comments on “Ginger will always be in my pocket!
  1. Susan says:

    I buy fresh ginger and grate it and make a fresh tea. Not sure if it is powerful enough to combat the histamine reaction though.

    • I actually want to do some research into that. I’m interested in making my own powder from fresh ginger instead of buying the capsules. I have to figure out how much ginger to use and how to measure it. The capsules have raw ginger powder but they also have ginger extract.

      And I’m guessing they make it from dehydrated ground ginger.

      I’ll do a follow up as soon as figure it all out. I would assume, based on my experience with the crystallized ginger versus the capsules that tea would have a lot less of whatever makes ginger so valuable. But using fresh might make a difference. I just don’t know.

      Right now, I’m doing so well on it I hesitate to change what I am taking.

  2. K.K. says:

    Hi all,

    This is another winning post, DLB. Thank you.

    It is such a relief to find something that works, and I can understand not wanting to make any changes to it.

    The only ginger currently in the house is some organic dried ginger that I keep in the spice rack for cooking.

    Having been overly cautious in the beginning of the histamine issues, I limited cooking spices to salt, white pepper, and black pepper.

    Lately, I have wanted to start introducing ginger, and other elements back into my cooking, etc.

    I miss the ginger for cooking not only for the taste, but also for the healing powers of it. At some point, I was also using fresh ginger in cooking, as a tea, and so forth.

    DLB, you are right on about the differences in strength in various forms.

    Here is a site that might be of interest:

    Ginger is amazing, with so many excellent properties.

    http://www.herbs2000.com/herbs/herbs_ginger.htm#_/exjun_

    This site is a handy resource for lots of items, as you’ll see. I hope it is of some help, use here.

    I have some others in my bookmarks that might be of further interest.

    Some of them address the differences in powdered, fresh, etc. Some talk about benefits, storing it. (Freezing is a good option.)

    Once I have a chance to sort through them, I’ll post a few on here, if that is okay.

    Cheers,

    K.

    • Interesting site. Thanks for the link. Lots of good information there.

      Ginger is an antihistamine so it should be ok for most folks I think. But as we know, we are all different, and we react to different things. I used smoked paprika in my butternut squash soup early on in my journey. I never reacted to it and it added quite a lot of flavor. I still treasure my little can!

      Spices are so important to making our minimal diets more interesting. Anything you can tolerate to add depth to the flavor is welcome. Good luck adding to your spice repertoire!

  3. Pam says:

    Good to know I can trust my instincts! I’ve been using ginger these past few weeks in tea (fresh ginger) and in crystalized form and I really, really think it is helping.

    • You know that’s very interesting to me. I think you demonstrate such an important point. That we must listen to our bodies.

      I started using ginger religiously way before I even read about it’s anti-inflammatory properties. I just knew from the first day I took it my body loved it.

      I now dehydrate and grind it myself and fill vegetarian capsules with it. It’s even better than store bought caps. It’s a pain to do it but well worth the effort.

      And the one thing I noticed as a side benefit to my homemade ginger is I swear my eyesight is sharper. Could be it helps with inflammation with my contacts.

      Thanks for stopping by and validating my findings.

      Dale

  4. layla says:

    Thank you so much for writing this. I have chronic pain and inflammation which I believe is in part due to histamine intolerance. Even before the pain began I had issues with flying. I have at times felt like it takes me a week to recover from the plane landings. Recently I started taking supplements for HI (DAO, holy basil, butterbur) but nothing seems to be doing the job. After reading your experience I am going to ditch all these supplements that I haven’t seen progress with and give ginger a try. I am now off to Amazon to buy some Ginger.

    • Please let me know if it works.

      I’m going to write yet another post on ginger soon. I ate some Thai food the other day and broke out into hives. Instead of taking anything else I thought let me just take the ginger. Within five minutes the itching stopped and fifteen minutes later there was no sign of the hives.

      It really does work!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
