The Low Histamine Chef interviews

I truly believe no one works harder than the Low Histamine Chef to educate people about histamine intolerance. Her work has proved invaluable to me, and I know thousands of others. She’s positive, engaging, and most importantly generous with her research.

She’s put up on her site two interviews that might be of interest. I’ve watched the one with Dr. Brian Clement and have listened to only part of the Joneja interview. (Not because it’s not interesting, just because it’s 45 minutes long and I just didn’t finish)

I highly recommend stopping by Yasmina’s site and checking them out.

The one thing I would say about the Clement interview is I wish he weren’t so flippant (in my opinion) about the link between hormones and histamine intolerance. I’ve read other things he’s said aside from this interview and I just don’t think he gives the hormone link enough weight.

The other thing I want you to keep in mind, especially if you are new to this issue, is that when someone says the elimination diet doesn’t work, like he says, and that’s not a correct quote it’s a paraphrase, he means that it won’t heal you. Of course many of us have to start by eliminating certain foods, but that will only stop the body from reacting to those foods. It won’t heal the histamine problem. To do that, you must work to find the underlying issue while maintaining a high, nutrient dense diet. I wanted to clarify that for some of you who might think that was confusing if you are using an elimination diet to control your symptoms.

So take a look at The Low Histamine Chef’s site.

Click here to read or watch the interview entitled INTERVIEW: HIPPOCRATES INSTITUTE DIRECTOR DR BRIAN CLEMENT

And click here to listen to the interview: DR JONEJA INTERVIEW: HISTAMINE INTOLERANCE & MAST CELLS

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
10 comments on “The Low Histamine Chef interviews
  1. K.K. says:

    Hi,

    Thanks for the information, and for the links.

    Somehow, I had not yet come across the Clement one on her site, but thanks to you I have it now. 🙂

    Like you, I am also a fan of The Low Histamine Chef.

  2. barbara barrie,r.n. says:

    hi……my name is barbara and have a rare blood disorder called essential thrombocytosis. its an elevated platelet count and histamines are elevated are a result of this condition…im a totally organic foods person for the past thirty years………question number one..i drink about 4 to 5 cups of green tea daily….is green tea a no no for histamine intolerance??? my symptoms include burning in my mouth and pain in my body…and believe or not, if someone touches me or pats me on my clothing, i get these symptoms to the point i have difficulty functionally..my only relief is taking a shower or bath and then trying to sleep.. who can live in a world that people cant touch you!!!!!!.sleep, another issue..im up several times at night!!! i do suffer from headaches also and weird sensations in my hands and legs….im extremely at wits end as I’m 66 years old, still working and was looking forward to retirement…itching is not an issue. i would certainly appreciate any information you could offer me or a referral to someone who can help me!!!! looking forward to hearing from you…thank you!

  3. Barbara, I’m so sorry to hear about your situation. I looked up your disorder and it sounds challenging to say the least.

    Green tea can be a problem for histamine intolerant folks. I could not drink it for the longest time. Even now, I only drink a cup a day at most. I tolerate white tea well though, and have developed quite a taste for it.

    As for the burning mouth, that could be the result of changes to your body from menopause believe it or not. Some women’s tastes change. They experience metallic tastes or other sensations. I seem to find bitter foods extremely bitter now. But some women develop mouth burning.

    As for the pain, are you sure it’s not directly related to your disorder? I read that hand pain can be part of it.

    As I suggest to everyone who stops by, the best way to tell if food is the issue is to start a food diary and eliminate the questionable foods from your diet. Then as you feel better, add one back in and see what happens.

    I hope this helps. Let us know how you’re doing when you get a chance.

  4. barbara barrie,r.n. says:

    hello yasmina…thank you soo very much for getting back to me so very quickly. i great appreciate it!….im going to strictly adhere and avoid high histamine foods from now on……question? does it sound reasonable that if indeed , in the past, i consumed a high histamine food, the body does then goes into an inflammatory mode…correct? then is it true that when the body is in a heightened state of inflammation, platelets respond by elevation??? in addition, do you feel taking b6, p5p and tmg, etc. help to lower histamines? hope you are feeling well and again im so happy i have this forum and you to relate to…take care…sincerely barbara

  5. Barbara, I think maybe you’ve gotten my blog mixed up with the Low Histamine Chef’s blog. She is Yasmina. So I’m not sure I should attempt to answer your question because you might think you’re talking to someone else!

  6. Ok Barbara, I looked up the things you were referring to because I hadn’t heard of P5P or TMG before, and I wasn’t really sure what you were asking about platelets.

    P5P as it is commonly known, is the active form of vitamin B6. Proper levels of vitamin B6 is a must to promote the DAO enzyme, necessary in the control of histamine, to function properly. You can get too much B6 however which could be detrimental to your health, so I do not specifically supplement with B6. It is in the nutritional yeast I use as a supplement for B12. But I would be very careful about supplementing with it.

    As for TMG, I think you might have landed on it because of the idea of it being a methyl donor. Some people with histamine intolerance have issues with methylation, although I’m never sure if it means they are over or under methylators. And to tell you the truth I really do not understand the entire theory behind it. I’ve read up on it, but am not sure if it is a real thing, or if it theoretical, and how if you have it, or don’t have it you’re supposed to correct it. I’m not even sure there is a legitimate test for it. So in essence, I do not know if that particular supplement is a good choice or not. It is not one I’ve researched for histamine intolerance or one that I have even seen referred to.

    As for what happens when you eat a food that elevates histamine, yes, once you’ve eaten it the inflammatory process gets under way. But it’s the mast cells that get irritated and release histamine. I’m not sure if platelets are necessarily involved.

    I feel the best way to get things under control is to first start a food diary to identify whether histamine intolerance is your issue, use an elimination diet to get your inflammation under control and then go from there. You can also take a look at my supplements page to see what I take to help control inflammation and reduce a reaction. Once things settle down, you can add foods back into your diet and hopefully maintain a low histamine level of inflammation in your body.

    I hope this helps.

    DLB

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
