School’s out for the summer!

Well we finally wrapped the school year and I now have half a brain. Last week I had no brain, so this is progress. Anyone who thinks teachers are spoiled because they get the summers off does not understand how emotionally and physically brutal teaching can be. If I didn’t get the summer off, I would not be able to teach in the fall!

That’s the end of my teacher rant.

I really just wanted to post so that my followers would know that my blog is still alive and well and has not been abandoned. I just couldn’t manage to keep up with it the last few weeks.

I hope all my itchy friends out there are doing well and can report progress on the healing front. I am still pretty much itch free, have not had hot flashes or mood swings, and am still very much on a healing path. I’m set to go on a trip to Europe in a couple of weeks, and could only do that because I have come so far.

So ladies, please check in and let me know how you are. There are quite a few of you I haven’t heard from in my lax blogging weeks, and I am anxious to know if everyone is ok.

DLB

Posted in Women's health
7 comments on “School’s out for the summer!
  1. K.K. says:

    Congratulations on surviving another year of teaching, and for being itch-free. That is fantastic.

    While I am not a teacher, I do get what you mean. Plus, I have current and past teacher friends, and have seen how draining an experience it is to teach.

    My progress is not quite as radical, but I am sensing some changes to the point of cautious optimism. 🙂

    This past Sunday, I ventured to have a gin and tonic at the end of a lovely drive in the mountains. If you recall, I had said that the last time I had a G&T the price was too high.

    Well, I had been feeling pretty good, and knock wood, I had zero adverse reactions to the G&T. 😀

    Next up on the list of things to reintroduce will be some tea.

    Up until a certain point (I have to check my notes as to when) I was able to safely drink White Jasmine tea from Choice Organics, with a bit of sugar in it.

    Then, I had some sort of reaction. I’m still not sure if the tea was part of it, as there were other things ingested at the same time of the reaction, but I cut it out to be safe.

    My biggest obstacle lately is my energy levels. They have been pretty low at times, and as a result I then do not eat as well as I should. Since I have to cook everything I eat, I often don’t bother to eat at all, which I know is not good nutritionally.

    At the same time, and I wonder if this is true for anyone else here, when I do fast, I tend to feel so much better once any initial hunger pangs subside.

    To be clear, overall I am feeling better, and hope that I am turning a corner of some kind.

    That you are planning a trip to Europe is wonderful, and I hope you are able to safely and happily, without an itch, sample all the cuisine to your heart’s (and stomach’s) content.

    May we all have such a summer, and beyond. 😀

    • Wow, see now that’s great news. To have something that did react and have no reaction, that’s progress.

      I couldn’t drink white tea either for a long time. I could only drink ginger tea. I even reacted to nettle and chamomile. But now I have a cup of white tea every morning. And I can have green without a reaction, but only do that if I’m out and that’s the only thing available.

      There are still foods I’m afraid to try even though I’ve come this far. But I did venture into dangerous territory and had one of my mom’s homemade chocolate chip brownies. I didn’t itch but I was up half the night with restlessness. And I was so sleepy after I ate it…go figure. But I won’t be having one of those again anytime soon.

      So chocolate is still really off the list. I’m still scared to eat spinach, avocado, and cauliflower too. But I have ventured into some tomato sauce without a reaction.

      So congrats on the gin and tonic! If nothing else, it’s a great indicator that you’re moving in the right direction and doing things right by your body.

      DLB

      • K.K. says:

        Every little bit of progress does help us keep going, such as your good news about the tea. 🙂

        I’m not discouraged, but it is good to see signs of moving in the right direction, as you said.

        You are brave to try the chocolate, and the tomato sauce.

        That wired/tired feeling you describe is often attributed to adrenal fatigue. I get it, too, but it was an issue before the histamine intolerance.

        Avocado is big one for me, too. One of the worst reactions I got was from eating it.

        While I’d never been a big fan of cauliflower in general, I do miss spinach because of the nutrients.

        At least there are other greens I can eat, like arugula. I like it in my smoothies, along with some snap peas, apples, pears, cucumbers, and so on.

        It’s fun to find the variety of foods that go well in a smoothie, but that one might not otherwise think of mixing together.

    • Oh and yes, I’ve read several times over that people feel much better when they fast. But really, that’s just putting off the inevitable. They are not triggering their histamine levels with food, so their bodies settle. But the scary flip side is starvation.

      I’ve read some scary stories on forums of people who lose lots of weight because they feel so good not eating. And don’t forget, there is a theory that anorexia is actually tied to histamine intolerance.

      So a day or so, here and there, of not eating to feel better is probably ok, but I’d be really careful with that. Even though we have a food issue, we do not want to develop a weird, unhealthy relationship with food.

      I never lost weight during this whole thing because I ate nutritionally sound. Broccoli, lettuce, butternut squash, apples, pears…those things might be boring the millionth time you eat them, but they are nutritionally dense. So on those days you just don’t want to worry about reacting, eat only your safest, healthiest foods.

      At the very least, eat apples.

  2. K.K. says:

    Healthy fasting has been a part of my life since I was a teenager primarily as a way to rid my body of toxins.

    It has never been about starvation, anorexia, bulimia, or so on. I have always had a rule on any fast that if I feel seriously ill I will eat right away.

    My weight went way up when I entered menopause, and it’s been a struggle for years to lose that weight.

    I did make some major progress in dropping a lot of it through fasting and other methods, which was helpful in that I felt much better after that weight loss.

    Then, after I started on a low histamine diet I experienced an initial weight drop, but I’ve pretty much been at the same weight since then, probably because I’m eating similar foods to the ones you listed, and others.

    With some exceptions of planned and/or longer ones, my fasts are fairly short, and just sort of happen on their own, so I figure my body is telling me that it’s time for a bit of a break.

    When a fast is going well, and most of them for me do, I sleep better, look better, feel more focused, and have more energy.

    At the same time, even now with all of my food restrictions, and the discomfort I sometimes experience after eating my safe foods, I still enjoy eating, baking, cooking, etc., so there’s no chance of my ever giving up food entirely. 😀

    I appreciate the words of concern, but in my case they are not necessary.

    Food and I will have a long and healthy relationship, despite any setbacks along the way. 🙂

    • I really didn’t think you were heading towards anorexia. You seem to have a handle on your situation and are super knowledgeable. And you are the one who likes to post recipes!

      I guess I always am thinking about the others who read our conversations who might not understand all of the connections to what can go haywire with histamine intolerance.

      I think I write like a teacher talking to one kid. I always know the rest are listening!

      • K.K. says:

        You make a good point. One never knows who is reading in the background, and it’s always good to cover all of of the angles, providing lots of information.

        Knowledge is power, as I’m sure you know as a teacher. 🙂

        I like what you wrote about talking to one kid, with the rest listening. Well put. 😀

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 805 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 484,437 hits
