Remember, it’s not just food

I’m about to fly outta here to go on my Sunday morning bike ride, but before I go I wanted to stress one point about other things that can trigger a histamine reaction.

There are quite a few people on here who are either new to histamine intolerance or just discovering that their ongoing issues could be histamine intolerance, so especially for their benefit, I wanted to stress this point again.

We tend to speak a lot about what we can and cannot eat, but anything you touch or breath or come in contact with can trigger a reaction also. I was just working on a new sculpture, and opened a little tube of Rub and Buff. It’s a kind of metallic rub you can use to antique things. It has metal powder and waxes and whatever else, I don’t exactly remember, but most importantly, for me it seems, it has fumes.

I thought nothing about it until a few minutes later, when I went to make my morning smoothie, I noticed my leg broke out in a bumpy itchy patch. I hadn’t even eaten anything yet, so I traced through my mind what I was just doing and landed on the Rub and Buff.

Months ago, I learned the hard way what could happen with me when I decided to bleach the caulk around my bathtub. Let’s just say I won’t be doing that anytime soon. My reaction to this new stuff wasn’t nearly as bad, but my histamine levels are pretty low, so it was a minor reaction. I might use the stuff again. I just won’t be looming over the tube breathing it in.

But the point is, you’re going to react to other things besides food. So write it down. I put an entry into my food diary immediately. That’s where I note everything, so I’m pretty sure I’ll remember I didn’t eat it!

What other things trigger your reactions? Anyone want to share?

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
8 comments on “Remember, it’s not just food
  1. K.K. says:

    Another excellent post, and reminder to all of us.

    The other day, I was out in the yard for about 30 minutes collecting pine cones off the ground for various uses.

    Prior to my histamine problems, the only time I had a reaction to anything in the yard was a very mild one to freshly cut grass. The grass here had not been cut since last summer, so that was not a problem.

    I live in the mountains in the Northeast, so it was a cool day. I was wearing heavy gloves, a baseball cap, scarf, and my other clothes covered the rest of my body, so there was no direct skin contact with plants, etc.

    A few minutes after I got inside, I realized I was feeling something. It took me a minute to put it together as it was not the typical “attack,” nor did it last long, but it was there.

    It seems that breathing so close to the ground, plants, trees, etc. was enough for me to react. I can safely sit outside on the porch or in the driveway, use my bike trainer on the porch, take walks on the road, etc., but now know I cannot get so close to any flora.

    I’m talking about being inches away from it before I have a problem.

    By the way, for something lower level like this, I take Hyland’s Ferrum Phos. #4, and it works very quickly.

    To get results, I do need take a lot more than what is listed on the bottle, so experiment with the dosage needed.

    This is a homeopathic remedy, so it’s very safe, but do read the label, etc., and make sure it’s safe for you.

    As the author of this blog also says, I am not a doctor. I’m simply sharing what works for me, and hope it might also work for someone else here, or spark ideas for other solutions. 🙂

    K.

    P.S. One other thing comes to mind, though I’ve not had a problem with it. Bites from certain bugs or spiders might also trigger a reaction.

    • The mountains of the north east? I’m jealous!

      I’ll look into that homeopathic thing. I haven’t tried homeopathic stuff for this, so I’d be willing to give it a try. It would be nice to be able to carry something small that could put down a reaction quickly.

      Red ants make welts on me like nothing else. And my cat grabbed me with his claws last night while playing, and I had little welts everywhere the tips pierced my skin. The list goes on and on…

  2. K.K. says:

    It is pretty here, and I do feel lucky to be in this area. After 30+ years in the city, I am glad to be in the country. I do miss certain things about city life, but it’s okay.

    For bug bites, I use tea tree oil as a repellent (and after the fact, too).

    It works like a charm, and in the mountains, I pretty much live in it from now until the first cold snap. Before going outside, or anywhere there are bugs, I use it full strength on my ankles, wrists, neck, on top of the baseball cap I wear when sitting out in the yard, and any other spots as needed.

    Some people can’t tolerate it full strength, so I suggest a spot test first. If necessary, mix it with a carrier oil like jojoba (or maybe even your olive oil).

    Remember the Jin Shin Jyutsu I mentioned in e-mail? Place your left hand directly over the bite area, and then place your right hand over the left. Hold/repeat as long/often as necessary. This can also be used for splinters.

    By the way, if you are bleeding from a cut, etc., reverse the hand hold described above.

    While I’m talking about it, the hold for adrenal fatigue is this:

    Place your hands (palm or back of hands is fine) behind your back, just below your rib cage. Hold/repeat as above.

    Jin Shin Jyutsu (JSJ) works even through a cast on a broken limb, for example, so don’t worry about getting direct contact to skin. It will work through clothes.

    Also, there is a three-inch radius of effectiveness for all holds, in case you cannot reach a spot directly.

    One last JSJ tip for now. If you find yourself feeling an attack coming on, or simply feel unwell, hold the backs of your knees, your wrists, or your big toes. I find the knee hold works fastest for me in an emergency, but give them all a try. 🙂

    The above will likely work on the cat scratches, too.

  3. I’ve got to look Jin Shin Jyutsu up. I’ve never heard of it.

    • Sounds almost identical to Reiki. I happen to be a Reiki master. Never once thought to use it on myself. I guess I’m not a very good Reiki master!

      • K.K. says:

        I have not done any research into Reiki for ages, so I’ll go look at it again.

        In an e-mail to you back on the 21st and then on the 25th, I sent you some info on JSJ, MSM, and other stuff, in case you want to review that, too.

        JSJ is so easy to do on oneself, and on others, and the book I recommended is the one I use.

        Menopause-histamine link maven, teacher, honorary scientist/lawyer, Reiki master, sculptress…what else? I’m sure I’m forgetting other things about you I’ve seen on here. 😉 😀

      • Yes I have to go back and look at that email. I remember you had mentioned it in there.

        Hahaha! The list of what I’ve done is a long one. I’ll have to plant some tidbits in new posts to test your private investigator skills!

  4. K.K. says:

    Here is some more on Jin Shin Jyutsu (JSJ) from a site I use daily in conjunction with a book called _The Touch of Healing_ by Burmeister and Comte. I got my copy on Amazon.

    I thought these might come in handy for the hot summer days, and just in general.

    This site is easy to search, too, for other topics.

    On this page, you will find JSJ for heat, tension, fatigue, stress, and more.

    http://www.flowsforlife.com/?s=reast&searchBtn.x=0&searchBtn.y=0

    Here is a suggested list of books from the above site:

    http://www.flowsforlife.com/reading/

    K.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,213 hits
