Food sites I like to visit

Eating can be such a challenge when you’re histamine intolerant. I mean there are enough healthy foods I can still eat, but I do get bored eating butternut squash, apples, and broccoli all the time. But even past regular meals, it’s the snacking that seems to be most difficult.

I am lucky enough to be able to eat nuts. I know a lot of people can’t. And there are many fruits and vegetables I can eat. But when I come home from school (I’m a high school teacher) I really want a snack. I used to get home and have a few squares of chocolate or a handful of pretzels, but that’s all off limits now. And there is just so much hummus and rice crackers a person can eat.

I know I’ve suggested you take a look at The Low Histamine Chef site where you’ll find a wealth of information on histamine intolerance and food, but today I want to suggest you visit another site: The Rawtarian Although this site is dedicated to raw food, I think it bears looking at for anyone looking for tasty, healthy dishes. I find many of the recipes can be reworked to accomodate my eating issues. You just replace one item for another. The advantage is, the recipes are whole foods, so there’s no tricky ingredients to deal with. I’ve tried quite a few of the snack recipes using the ingredients my body can tolerate.

I love the idea of her Monkey Sandwich which is really just a stuffed cucumber, and her white chocolate which is made with shredded coconut, maple syrup, vanilla, and sea salt. (Not sure I can do the vanilla. Maybe… I have reacted to it in the past, but that was before I had dramatically improved.)

I haven’t tried those recipes yet, but have tried others with success. And it’s not just trying those recipes, but a site like that inspires me to find new ways to combine the foods that work for me. Getting bored with food when you are already limited is difficult. So take a look and see if you can find some recipes that might work for you.

And remember, keep up with your food diary so you can keep track of what you can and can’t eat. Once you get your histamine levels down, you might be surprised what you can sneak back into your eating repertoire!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Women's health
4 comments on “Food sites I like to visit
  1. K.K. says:

    Hi DLB,

    This popped up in my inbox today.

    I really had no idea where to put this on here, and maybe you will want to move it. This seemed as good a place as any for now.

    In any case, if you haven’t seen this, I thought you and your readers would like it. She is posting it on YouTube in two parts. See the link for the first part in the link below.

    It is an interview with Dr. Janice Joneja.

    http://us5.campaign-archive1.com/?u=aa8baa3f99da87d92b9a0f039&id=3600c34e9c&e=bd9a07c5e4

    Later, she will also provide transcripts.

    K.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,213 hits
