Wow, why was I still eating grapeseed oil?

I research everything, yet a few years ago when my yoga teacher told the class that canola oil was terrible for you and we all should be using grapeseed oil, I remember only researching canola oil. I determined she was right, canola was not very good for you. But I never researched grapeseed. So when I went to buy a new jar of Vegenaiase, the vegan version of mayonnaise, I bought what she suggested; the product composed entirely of grapeseed oil.

Now on my mission to clean out all bad omega 6’s from my diet, I finally looked up grapeseed. Wow, what a surprise! That oil has the highest amount of omega 6 polyunsaturated fat of any oil! It’s absolutely awful when it comes to inflammation.

Here I was, berating Evening Primrose Oil for its large amount of omega 6, (and mind you many people think it is a healthy thing to take and it just might be, I’m not an authority) but completely sabatoging myself with grapeseed oil!

This is a great site that offers a lot of good information on grapeseed oil, pufa (polyunsaturated fat) and omega 6. Take a look, it’s eye opening. And again, I don’t take only one person’s word for it. You can find this information on a lot of sites, this is just a good one.

So if you’d like to limit inflammation in your body, especially if you’re suffering from an inflammatory response like histamine intolerance, throw the grapeseed oil out! I have.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Women's health
4 comments on “Wow, why was I still eating grapeseed oil?
  1. Kathy says:

    Thanks for the tip!!! I just checked out my Vegenaise to make sure it wasn’t the one with Grapeseed oil😃

    • Kathy, take a look at this page, http://butterbeliever.com/what-is-pufa/ on the ButterBeliever site too. I’m not too put off by the name of the site even though I am vegan because the information this person provides is so good. I think all those Veganaise products are not good for inflammation as they are all made with oils other than olive. Coconut oil seems to be another good oil, but I need to research that one more. But Safflower, canola, sunflower…they’re all bad. Grapeseed definitely leads the pack though.

      Instead of using a processed spread, I put some olive oil into a small jar and put it in the fridge. The oil solidifies. Then when I need a spread, I can use a butter knife and spread it onto bread. It melts into the bread, and it’s not too messy.

  2. alice says:

    great article!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
