The Red Tent

When you have a blog, you get to see how many visits and views you are getting and where the visitors are from. It excites me to see when someone finds my blog from far away. There’s something empowering  in knowing you are not alone on this journey.

My philosophy with this blog is that women need to support women. Whether you have found me because you are going through menopause and are looking for a way to get through hot flashes and the other symptoms of a changing hormonal universe, or that you have histamine intolerance just because, I hope you have found some insight and some inspiration to keep working towards health and happiness, and that you pass on what you’ve read to the next woman in need.

Men can’t understand and doctors don’t always try. Women need women. If I hadn’t already named this blog that ridiculously long name, (I can’t change it now because I’d break all the links) I’d call this blog The Red Tent, inspired by the book with the same name.

From Wiki:
The Red Tent is a novel by Anita Diamant, published in 1997 by Wyatt Books for St. Martin’s Press. It is a first-person narrative that tells the story of Dinah, daughter of Jacob and sister of Joseph. She is a minor character in the Bible, but the author has broadened her story. The book’s title refers to the tent in which women of Jacob’s tribe must, according to the ancient law, take refuge while menstruating or giving birth, and in which they find mutual support and encouragement from their mothers, sisters and aunts.

I’m not religious, but the book is a great one and I’ve always loved the idea of the red tent.

So whoever you are and wherever you are from, thank you for visiting my red tent.
image

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
2 comments on “The Red Tent
  1. Kathy says:

    I read the Red Tent and you are right that would have been very appropriate!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
