Olive oil, polyphenols, and healing

I am excited today because I feel like I might have stumbled on something. I’ve started using olive oil for my dry skin and have had great results with it. The skin on my legs is healing and substantially less itchy. And last night I got brave and applied it to my arms, which can’t seem to bear even water. But the olive oil did not trigger any response and my skin feels great today.

But that is not what excites me today. I think the olive oil is having a much larger effect on my histamine intolerance than just moisturizing my skin. I’ve noticed on the days I use the olive oil before bed, I sleep much better.

Before I started using it on my legs, that same day as a matter of fact, I wondered if I would ever have a restful night’s sleep again.I haven’t been having hot flashes, but when I wake up in the morning I just haven’t felt refreshed. But the night I used the olive oil on my skin, I slept better than I had in months and woke refreshed. I used it a couple more nights and slept well. Then the other day I used the oil on my skin earlier in the day and didn’t reapply it before bed. I had a restless night. The next night I used it before bed and slept well again.

So now I’m thinking that the olive oil is working as much more than just a moisturizer. After all, your skin is your largest organ, and what you put on it can be absorbed into your bloodstream. Additionally, I know in many cultures people drink olive oil so what would happen if I drank some before bed? Would I see the same results? Or better?

I’ve begun researching, in earnest, the idea of olive oil as a healing agent to histamine intolerance. I’ve landed on many sites and studies that might just back up my thinking. It would seem it’s the polyphenols in the olive oil that make it good for you. Polyphenols function not only as antioxidants, but also as anti-inflammatories. And they are in abundance in olive oil.

This article, Naturally Occurring Polyphenolic Antioxidants Modulate IgE-mediated Mast Cell Activation is obviously written by and for scientists and doctors, but what I could glean from it, it speaks specifically to the issue of how the polyphenols in smokeless tobacco leaves effect mast cells. The results of the study showed that the polyphenols in the leaves did effect the release of histamine from mast cells.

So then it makes sense that olive oil would have the same effect on mast cells. I have no idea how much you would have to apply or drink to effect the mast cells, but since we are talking about food, it seems safer than devouring jars of supplements if that can be avoided. And I’d like to avoid it if possible.

From Livestrong: Polyphenols, also called phytochemicals, are bitter compounds found in plants and fruits that evolved to defend against the grazing of herbivores. In this sense, polyphenols are considered anti-nutrients because they interfere with absorption of nutrients and deter most animals from consuming them. Polyphenols are generally divided into tannins, lignins and flavonoids, which are the best studied group and present in many fruits. The antioxidant properties of polyphenols, especially flavonoids, are considered beneficial to people, although perhaps not in large quantities.

So the flip side of polyphenols is that they can be bad for you in too high a quantity, although I don’t know what quantity that might be. They apparently bind to iron and deplete the body of it. That’s why I am concerned with all the of the quercetin capsules I take in a day. Although I’ve read on WebMD that quercetin has no known side effects, too much polyphenols isn’t great and quercetin is a polyphenol.

So more research must be done. It might be a bit premature to put this entry up without all the supporting information I’d like, but I’ve had such positive results using olive oil I wanted to share my theories. My ultimate goal is to cure my histamine intolerance and taking drugs is not an option. Supplements are the closest I will come to trying to manage this from a bottle, but it would be nice if I could manage it with a bottle of extra virgin cold pressed olive oil!
mr itch

Additional Information

I am continuing to research this subject and will add to my findings as I go along. I am trying to determine the ratios of polyphenols in foods and what makes olive oil better than other oils or fruits and vegetables. This article explains what specifically makes olive oil so good (The constituent in olive oil is DHPEA-EDA.). It talks about heart attack and stroke, but I think the information is valid in general.

I just fell over another article that specifically talks about insomnia snd the use of olive oil as a curative, so now I know I’m not crazy. I really did feel the difference in my restfulness when I started using olive oil.

Update

I need to update my Supplements page to include olive oil in my daily regimen. The results of using it on my skin and now adding it even more into my diet have been remarkable. My skin has healed and my histamine level is at such a low level I have been able to eat many things I couldn’t just two weeks ago.

The information I’ll add to the Supplements page is that I now mix a tablespoon of olive oil into my morning smoothie and I take a teaspoon before bed with the rest of my supplements. I also use it on my arms and legs at least once a day, usually close to bedtime. I haven’t stopped any of my other supplements, I’ve only added this to my regimen. And of course I cook with olive oil and use it as salad dressing.

If you are calorie conscious, just know that it’s about 100 calories per tablespoon of olive oil. But it’s a healthy fat, so you don’t have to worry about adding it into your diet as long as you’re eating healthfully. Just make sure you’re using a real olive oil. The label should say extra virgin, first cold pressed. If you drink it, it should burn the back of your throat and make you cough. That’s how you know it’s the real deal.

If you’ve tried olive oil on your skin or added it into your daily regimen and seen results, please let me know in the comments section, or shoot me an email from my contact page.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Women's health
One comment on “Olive oil, polyphenols, and healing
  1. Rosemary says:

    What happened to the itchy header? I liked the little guys? I wondered if I was in the right sight. Great news on EVOO, cause I use it by the gallon!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
