Update on my supplements regimen

I will update my information in the supplements section shortly, but those of you following my blog might not look at that information again anytime soon, so I wanted to write a separate entry here.

I have had real success with the supplements I’ve been taking. Yes, I wish I could just manage my intolerance with foods, but I am a social creature and when I’m with friends and family I tend to fall of the “right” foods wagon, so I still need the supplements.

No matter what I’ve eaten or been exposed to in a day, I always take the same things at night right before bed. On my Supplements page I said I took at least one 500mg Quercetin with Bromelain. I’ve changed the brand I take and the new brand’s capsules are 800mg. And I take two now.

So my regimen is two 800mg Quercetin with Bromelain capsules, one 500mg ginger capsule, and one 500mg Olive Leaf capsule.

I have been sleeping better than ever and have not had a single hot flash in weeks. That’s even after having a few bad days of terrible itching brought on by my indulging in tomato sauce or hugging someone wearing what turned out to be a rather toxic cologne! (I used to get migraines, now I itch. Boy ya can’t win!)

If you’ve tried this regimen and seen results, please let me know. The itching is one thing, but sleeping well and reducing the hot flashes is another. I think many women going through menopause think hot flashes is their lot in life and I don’t think it has to be. Both my mother and sister suffered from them and still do. I started to also, but now I cannot tell you when the last time was I had one.(Actually I could if I looked it up in my food diary but I’m too lazy to do that right now) And that’s without using the herbal remedies we all hear about. No soy, no HRT. So I think it’s possible.

Now is it possible, if you don’t have a histamine intolerance but are starting menopause, to control hot flashes using this regimen? I don’t know. I’m not a doctor. I can tell you I would have never known otherwise if I didn’t have the intolerance since that’s the reason I started on this path. And how would a woman know to look if she didn’t itch or have random allergy symptoms?

I’d really like to hear from anyone who is trying these supplements and having the success I am. And then we have to pass it on to other women who might not have histamine intolerance but who suffer at night from insomnia and hot flashes. Maybe they really can get help with this too.

If you do not want to publicly comment, please use my contact page to email me. Let’s start a dialog.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Women's health
2 comments on “Update on my supplements regimen
  1. Deborah says:

    I’ve been dealing with severe insomnia for about 23 years and hot flashes since my mid 40s. I’m 61 now. I’ve done every type of diet / cleanse imaginable and have spent a fortune on naturopathic docs, supplements and many forms of body work such as acupuncture, etc. nothing has really abated the insomnia until I chanced upon an article about histamine intolerance about a week ago. I was trying to figure out why I can’t tolerate my homemade kefir or sauerkraut. I don’t often get rashes but when I’d lay down to sleep at night my skin would crawl and my brain would be in a state of hyper vigilance.
    This week, just experimenting with diet and using nettle tea and vit c as antihistamines i also just purchased your reccommended supps. I’ve had some very good nights. I’m ecstatic about this and am absorbing all I can on the web. How sad that none of the practitioners I saw had a clue about this. Thank you for sharing your insights. I’ve most recently been doing a paleo/gaps diet but now am thinking of moving away from the animal protein. Any thoughts on this? Is your EPA supplement vegetarian? I do like to take omega 3s but have stopped because of the fish. This is a radical diet change for me. Fortunately I’ve become very disciplined over the years. I’d like to put on some weight as I’ve been too thin for about two years.
    Yours is the first site I’ve seen connecting hot flashes and histamine. I’d love to get off of the bio identical hormones and porcine thyroid. I’ll work with my doc on this, put I feel hopeful that it can be done.
    Many blessings to you!
    Deborah

    • Yes, my Omegas are vegan. I’m not home right now and can’t remember the names although I think one is called Ovega. But the key is to also eat a handful of walnuts to get the full spectrum. So even if you can’t find the supplement, go eat some walnuts!

      I am happy to hear you might have stumbled onto a healing path. I can honestly say I sleep like a baby now, and that was certainly not the case. And my hot flashes are pretty much non-existent right now. (I’ve been wanting to do a post on raisins and boron, so if you can eat raisins I’d start having at least a handful of those too.)

      I would absolutely talk to your doctor about all of this, but don’t be surprised if he has no idea about histamine intolerance or has no interest in listening about it. So many women have had that experience already. So I do encourage you to continue your research and document your findings. You are one of the first people to come on here and say “yes, I’ve tried what you recommend and it might just be working for me too.” I’ve been waiting a long time for someone to say that!

      Good luck and keep in touch. I’m confident that every day will get better and better. I would try to be strict about being on a low histamine diet and I would keep up with the supplements. They work better the longer you take them. And take a look at all I’ve written about supplementing with olive oil too.

      I look forward to hearing from you again.

      Dale

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 795 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 472,227 hits
