The healing powers of olive oil

I’ve written about how much I think olive leaf extract has helped maintain low histamine levels, so I wanted to touch on olive oil for health too.

I’ve always had trouble with dry skin on my legs, especially when the weather changes and our humid Miami days turn cool and dry. Before I had this histamine issue, I could use anything on my skin, but now, I can use almost nothing without reacting. So I began thinking that if I could ingest olive leaf extract and olive oil, could I use olive oil on my skin as a moisturizer?

Turns out this is not a wild idea. People have been using olive oil on their skin for centuries. So I figured I’d give it a try.

I am pleased to report that I’ve had little to know reaction to applying a generous amount of olive oil on my legs. I’ve had much less itching, especially at night when my  itchy legs wake me up. I’ve even slept better than I have in weeks. I’m not sure if it’s because my legs are healing or there is something else in play. After all, your skin is your largest organ and anything you apply to your skin can get absorbed into your body, so this needs some additional research.

I haven’t yet tried it on my arms. They react to everything, so I was waiting for the weekend when I’d be home and able to stem a reaction to give that a try.

In the meantime, for me anyway, olive oil works great as natural moisturizer. Take a look at this article  on the Huffington Post for some insight into the healing power of olive oil. The writer even explains what quality of oil to use.

And let me know in comments if you use it or plan to try it.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Women's health
2 comments on “The healing powers of olive oil
  1. Rosemary says:

    My yoga teacher swears by warm olive oil for cracked heels. My question is how do you not get oil on your sheets and clothes?

  2. I wear shorts when I apply it and massage it in. Then I wait a bit to let it absorb, which I find it does. If I’m ready to go to bed and I think it’s still a bit too oily I wipe down my legs with a bit of tissue. But I find it’s mostly been absorbed and isn’t any oilier than a product you might buy for skin. I don’t do it right before bedtime though. I do it earlier in the evening to give it time. I worried about the sheets and clothes too.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 778 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 443,018 hits
