Is your shower making you itch?

So are your hot showers making you itch? Mine sure are.

It took me quite a few months to admit that I should not be taking hot showers. Even before I started with histamine intolerance, for years actually, my thighs would break out in hives if I used really hot water, which actually was all the time because I like really hot showers. I didn’t think too much about it. It was the way it was and that was that.

But the hot showers tip the histamine bucket over now and the itching is pretty unbearable. So I decided last weekend to stop showering. Yes, I am still very hygienic. I take more of a shallow bath now. I actually quite like it. I like the idea of respecting my body enough to do something it needs, so I’ve embraced my new ritual.

Today though, I decided to save time and wash my hair in the shower. (I’ve been washing it in the sink this week) What a huge mistake. Even using only warm water and working quickly, it was only minutes after toweling off when my arms “lit up” with my demon itch! It was not worth the time it saved that’s for sure. I took an Olive Leaf capsule and the itch abated quickly.

The interesting thing is that I had a much better week with minimal itching and I realized that the biggest difference was my no showering rule.

So take notice of the things that set off your histamine intolerance. It’s not just foods.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in histamine intolerance, menopause, Women's health
7 comments on “Is your shower making you itch?
  1. Rosemary says:

    How do you know it’s the water and not the soap?

    • It’s a good question. Just because the soap isn’t touching my arm doesn’t mean anything. My arm could still react. But taking a bath with soap on my body and not on my arms and legs is fine. It’s the hot water that raises the histamine level. It’s actually well documented.

  2. K.K. says:

    Yes. It may not be exactly the same itching you describe, but my skin is terribly irritated by them, and I have seen hives.

    Also, I get lightheaded, dizzy, sweaty after the fact, etc. This has been going on for me, too, well before the low histamine issue reared its ugly head, but it’s all connected.

    I have to sit down for a long time after one to recover. It’s crazy.

    Like you, and with long hair, I wash my hair in the sink. It’s all around easier, safer, faster, and I can frequently rinse my head with cool water in the process to keep from overheating, and all the rest.

    I’ve also switched to gluten-free, etc. products from Desert Essence. You can find the ingredients list on the Desert Essence site, and then find them cheap on Amazon.

    What about hot, humid weather? Does that bother anyone here when it comes to low histamine, etc.?

    It’s about 88 degrees F as I write at 7:49 p.m. EDT. Humidity is pretty low at 52%, but I’m feeling it all with the higher temperature today.

    Summer is the worst for me, while fall and winter are far better.

    In the hot weather, I tend to do more fasting, or I did in the past, because eating was harder for me in the warm/hot weather.

    Maybe I’ll do better this year, as I am feeling somewhat stronger.

    I’d be interested to learn if anyone else here is affected by the weather in this regard.

    • I live in Miami so hot and humid is every day. It doesn’t bother me. Although sweating does activate my arm’s “hotspot” where my most virulent itch is. And direct sunlight bothers it too. It’s a very weird little area on my arm.

      But my body does better with humidity. Probably because I’ve lived in it so long. I’m like mold! I like it!

  3. […] Does your shower make you itch Hot showers can be a major hive trigger! […]

  4. billy says:

    ..this might be hard to believe, but the city water has some very nasty chemicals, like chloramines, chlorine, amonia ..grab a solar shower (for camping) and take distilled water showers — this will help — and remember, our 5000 year old ancestors only bather from a stream with no soap!

  5. billy says:

    also, if you get to the point of rock bottom, then try eating a Vegan diet for 3 months – 80 alkaline and 20 acidic foods

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,214 hits
