Did my water bottle make me itch?

I was virtually itch free for three days this week. Today, I was itchy. I didn’t eat anything that wasn’t “safe” and didn’t use any new skin products. So then what?

Well, we took our school out on a field trip to a park and I grabbed one of my aluminum water bottles I’ve had sitting around. It doesn’t appear to be coated and I think it’s just aluminum, but I began to wonder if it could be leeching something into the water.

Depending on how the bottle has been produced, it could contain BPA. So I started to research BPA and pulled a quote from a website. It was a study called

    Can Pregnancy BPA Exposure Increase Asthma Risk?

BPA has been used for more than 40 years in the manufacture of many hard plastic food containers and the lining of metal food and beverage cans. Trace amounts of the chemical can be found in some foods packaged in these containers, and the chemical is detectable in over 90 percent of the U.S. population.

Last year, a study published in the journal Environmental Health Perspectives found that the offspring of female mice exposed to BPA showed significant signs of asthma. Although the scientists said more research needed to be done, they speculated that BPA’s status as an “environmental estrogen” may set off allergic response-inducing chemicals such as histamine and a sudden release of allergy-promoting substances.

I realize it is a specific study and it’s talking about asthma, but asthma is an allergic response and BPA can cause that response and it can leech into the water from the bottle so maybe it’s not that far fetched.

So maybe it was the bottle…

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Women's health
One comment on “Did my water bottle make me itch?
  1. Rosemary says:

    It’s a mine field out there!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 791 other followers

Blog Stats
  • 465,213 hits
